It’s Snack Time!

February 15, 2007 at 6:46 pm 1 comment

It’s 4pm.  You’re sitting at your desk trying to work, but you’re distracted.  You want a diversion.  You need a diversion.  So, you head to the kitchen looking for a pick-me-up and think “I want a little something, but I don’t know what”.  Millions of people go through this ritual every day.  We are a snack-obsessed nation.  From kids to adults, the phrase, “snack time” conjures up images of crunchy, chewy, salty, gooey, chocolatey treats that satisfy our cravings, our sweetooths and our desire for something good to eat. 

I am a self-confessed “snacker”, a “snack-a-holic”.  There, I said it.  I am always looking for a snack and looking out for something new.  So, what is a snack?  Wikipedia refers to a snack as “something to temporarily tide a person’s hunger, provide a brief supply of energy for the body, or something to be eaten for enjoyment of the taste.”  While I can be hungry at times, and definitely need energy after a run or long day, I mostly eat snacks for the enjoyment of taste.

I prefer to snack rather than eat full meals.  I love restaurants that serve little plates because it’s like a “snack smorgasbord”.  My favorite snacks are pretzels.  I love the crunch, the salt and the taste.  Being from Philadelphia, I love the large, soft pretzels, especially with mustard.  (Much more on that another day)

So, I thought this blog would be a good way to spend my “snack time” by sharing snack ideas, seeking out new ones, finding what’s really in the snacks we eat, snack gift ideas and just enjoying snacks together. 

Till another “snack time”……..

Pretzelgirl

Entry filed under: snacks.

Snow days and a Marshmallow Mustache!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. janice goren  |  March 21, 2007 at 6:40 am

    Hey Pretzel Girl! II sure know who you take after. Awfully difficult being in the house without snacking. My favorites are Utz sourdouigh pretzels.with ice cream on the top…and a few peanuts on the side. Enjoy !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Follow Pretzelgirl on Twitter


