What’s all this about the Indian on Tootsie Pop wrappers?

March 28, 2007 at 8:53 am 3 comments

This is a follow-up to yesterday’s post about Tootsie Pops —–

I do not know where it came from but as long as I have been enjoying Tootsie Pops, I have been searching the wrappers for the “Indian” with the bow and arrow, shooting a star.   The version I always heard was that if you find an “Indian” on your wrapper, you’ll have good luck.  However, when I was doing some research for yesterday’s post, I came across the story of a long-standing rumor about the “Indian and the star”.  The rumor claimed that if you find and Indian or a star, you are entitled to a free pop or even a case of Tootsie Pops.   Unfortunately, this story is not true and the Tootsie Roll company continues to respond to inquiries with a simple letter similar to the one I received long ago.  No free pops for anyone.  So, I guess I should feel better about the letter I received.

Read more about the rumor at SNOPES.com or UrbanLegends.com.

Entry filed under: Pretzelgirl's Favorites, Snack History, snacks, Tootsie Pops. Tags: , , , .

Free Tootsie Pops! What the hecken’s a “Schnecken”?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. carebear  |  September 25, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    i love tootsie pops

    Reply
  • 2. ironman  |  November 4, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Fat girls love tootsie pops

    Reply
  • 3. Alan  |  November 17, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    It’s not totally a myth that you can (or could) get a free tootsie pop if you got an Indian shooting a star on your wrapper. When I was a kid, the small-town store in southern Utah where my grandparents lived would give you a free tootsie pop if your wrapper had the Indian shooting the star.

    I heard of at least one other place that did this, too, that was in northern Utah. It’s doubtful that they still so this…this was probably 40 years ago when I had this pleasure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Follow Pretzelgirl on Twitter


