The Wonders of Cheese Toast

April 25, 2007 at 11:02 am 11 comments

After reading Alex Witchel’s “ode to wonderbread” called “A Soft Spot for the Anti-Artisanal” in this morning’s New York Times, I got to thinking about my own love affair with the soft, white, all-pupose sandwich bread which I have long abandoned. 

Growing up in my house, the perfect snack was something my mother creatively named,  Cheese Toast.  img_0069.jpgThis delicacy was a slice of white Wonder-like sandwich bread, (although I think my mom bought Stroehman’s more often) topped with a single slice of munster cheese, with it’s distinctive orange edges.  The cheese topped bread is melted in the broiler or toaster oven until the cheese bubbled all over and the bread was slightly toasted around the edges.  Cheese Toast was the perfect quick, simple, inexpensive, tasty breakfast, lunch or even late night snack.

We sometimes jazzed it up topping the cheese with a slice of tomato or grilled bologna and even used different kinds of cheese, although Munster does the best bubbling.  The one cheese that really does not work is processed American.  Upon melting, the cheese never really bubbles and develops a scary film that sticks to the roof of your mouth. 

I have continued to make Cheese Toast throughout my adult life having graduated to using fresh baked sourdough, rye and whole grain breads.  Bagels work too, although you have to orchestrate the cheese into a perfect circle on top of the bagel half so the melted cheese does not run down the sides into the pit of the toaster oven and start a fire – a warning my mother constantly gave.Bagel cheese toast

Over breakfast with my eldest brother last week, we talked about our memories of Cheese Toast and how we have both continued the family tradition.   Who knows why but even today when we visit my mother, she still bellows up the stairs, Does anyone want a Cheese Toast for breakfast?”  The answer is always yes. 

Recipe for Cheese Toast

Ingredients:

Slice of white, jewish rye, sourdough or whole wheat bread

Thinly sliced cheese – munster, provolone, mozzarella or cheddar

Directions:

Top bread slice with cheese.  Make sure the entire slice is covered.

Broiler or toast until cheese bubbles for 5-10 seconds.

Remove carefully.

Enjoy!!!

Entry filed under: Afternoon Snacks, Pretzelgirl's Favorites, recipes, Snack History, snacks. Tags: , .

Fresh, Hot Matzo Year Round Natural Snacks, Good For You and Tasty Too!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. janice goren  |  April 26, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    Yum! Yum! How wonderful you remember the favorites of a family repast…How about the special hole in the center, too…it was my very favorite .

    Reply
  • 2. DrShep Goren  |  April 26, 2007 at 7:48 pm

    …….Have it at least twice a week! All kinds of breads and cheeses!

    Reply
  • 3. Mr. Buzzy  |  April 29, 2007 at 10:57 pm

    Very tasty with Limburger! Gas mask optional….

    Reply
  • 4. Andy  |  April 30, 2007 at 10:30 am

    We added bacos!

    Reply
  • 5. Theatre Guy  |  May 8, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    we never had cheese toast but my grandmother was a toaster oven connoisseur having mastered the technique of cooking an entire meal including steaks, vegetables and even chicken in the toaster oven.
    The oven was simply a storage area in the kitchen.

    Reply
  • 6. John . Dublin Ireland  |  January 14, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Interesting topic,I have had this a few times lately.I had it for two Mornings on the Trot Yesterday and Today.

    I toast Three Slices of Hi Fibre Whole Grain Bread lightly,
    Then Put some Gouda or Edam Cheese,it is a Softish Dutch Cheese on the Bread and top off with Tomato,

    Then put under the Grill for a Minute or Two until it Melts a bit and Voila a Marvellous Cheese Surprise, Heavenly Food.

    Reply
  • 7. Rich Mistkowski  |  February 4, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    I just found this and it brings back memories. My grandmother used to make me this in her toaster oven all the time. I’ll never forget the toaster oven always had aluminum foil on the tray so that the tray didn’t get dirty. I think. But she always ended up washing it? Hmmm. Anyway thanks for the memory. I need to make this for my kids!

    Reply
  • 8. incense wholesale  |  July 27, 2013 at 6:51 am

    It’s remarkable to go to see this web site and reading the views of all colleagues regarding this paragraph, while I am also keen of getting knowledge.

    Reply
  • 9. bread recipe  |  September 3, 2013 at 11:07 am

    Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs
    I stumbleupon everyday. It’s always exciting to read content
    from other writers and use a little something from other web sites.

    Reply
  • 10. where to buy bedside tables  |  July 14, 2014 at 10:15 pm

    Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up
    what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any recommendations for beginner blog writers?
    I’d really appreciate it.

    Reply
  • 11. syste  |  October 9, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    Right away I am going away to do my breakfast, after having my breakfast coming yet again to read
    other news.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Follow Pretzelgirl on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


