Natural Snacks, Good For You and Tasty Too!

July 7, 2007 at 1:01 am 6 comments

On a recent trip to Los Angeles, I had the chance to visit many of my old “food” haunts which kept me sane while I lived there.  It’s so difficult for a New Yorker to be satisfied gastronomically in most other cities, but the one thing LA had going for it was the fresh produce at the farmer’s markets.img_0170.jpg

When I lived in LA, every Saturday, I would walk to the famed Farmer’s Market in Santa Monica to buy my week’s worth of fresh California fruits and vegetables.  Who could resist snacking on fresh California strawberries, the many varieties of oranges, and yummy tree ripened peaches and plums. 

But my favorite treat  from the market were the fresh apricots, just picked and still firm to the touch, with a slight blush to the golden yellow skin.  No where on earth have I ever img_0179.jpgtasted such juicy little bundles of heaven.  On my recent trip, I had to stop at my favorite market and pick up a few pounds which I devoured in only a few days.  I am so spoiled by their tasty goodness that I still can’t bring myself to buy them anywhere else.

img_0167.jpgIn addition to the local farmer’s markets, the famed Fairfax Farmer’s Market is still in existence and more popular than ever since they built an outdoor mall, called The Grove, just next door.  One think I enjoyed snacking on while roaming through the stalls was the mixed nuts from Magee’s House of Nuts.  They also make delicious homemade peanut butter, but on this trip, I stuck with the mixed nuts.  So what’s so special about these nuts?  Well, take a look.  Crunchy, salty, with a perfect blend of Almonds, Cashews, Walnuts, Pecans and the best part — giant, collossal Macadamia nuts.  Have you ever seen Macadamia’s this big?  They almost dwarf the almonds.  These have to be the largest nuts I have ever seen!

While you can’t beat the fresh produce, the one thing LA was lacking in was a variety of Pretzels.  So, while I lived there, I shopped at the farmer’s markets religiously and mail-ordered my pretzels from the east coast.   I have to admit, LA does have the best produce (which the exception of Jersey tomatoes and blueberries) but when you can find delicious fresh fruit from anywhere, it’s the best snack in the world – good for you and tasty too.

Entry filed under: healthy snacks, Pretzelgirl's Favorites, Snack Finds, Snack Smart.

The Wonders of Cheese Toast Chocolate and Pretzels, the Perfect Combination

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andy  |  July 10, 2007 at 9:56 am

    Yummy – I’ve been looking forward to more snacktime!

    Reply
  • 2. Janioe  |  July 11, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    Welcome back…your descriptions are yummy. I have never had an apricot like what you describe. Makes me want to go out west. Looking forward to your next snacktime.

    Reply
  • 3. Mr. Buzzy  |  July 14, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    Real Angelenos line up for Tommy burgers smothered in glutinous, gaseous chili sauce. At 3 a.m.

    Reply
  • 4. Mr. Buzzy  |  July 20, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    Don’t you think it’s about time you wrote about waxed Cokes, waxed lips, Jujubees and those little candy buttons on paper tape?

    Reply
  • 5. Pretzelgirl  |  July 20, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    Thanks for the suggestion, Mr Buzzy. There is a candy store in NYC that sells all of the old time candies. The store is Economy Candy on Rivington Street. They offer products on line at http://www.Economycandy.com.

    Reply
  • 6. B  |  November 22, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    These are great tips. Make sure you all know how long these fruits and other snacks will last. Check out http://shelflifeadvice.com they have tips for extending the shelf life of your foods and how to properly store them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Follow Pretzelgirl on Twitter


