Back To Snacking with Peruvian Popcorn!!!

June 16, 2009 at 4:50 pm 4 comments

It’s been a long while since I’ve been “talking snacks” on this blog.  I certainly have not stopped snacking in private, but have lapsed in blogging about my culinary adventures on the web.  So have no fear, I am back to “snacking in public”.   
I’ve spent most of the year trying to navigate the new digital landscape, figuring out how to “Twitter“, how not to spend all day on my Facebook page, and deciding which new phone/mobile device to upgrade to.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            
Today, I placed my order for the new IPhone 3GS.  When I realized that I will now be able to take photos and videos of anything I eat and post them to my blog immediately, I thought, now my readers will have food news hot off of the press or more poignantly, my tongue.  So, stay tuned to more SNACKTIME.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         
Mystery Food

Just for starters, I took this photo over a year ago when I traveled to Peru and hiked to Machu Picchu.  This is Peruvian Popcorn or Canchita, a unique snack that I fell in love with while visiting the amazing country.  We found this popcorn served as a bar snack in many of the bars and taverns we visited. 

Instead of the kernels popping inside out like the popcorn we eat in the states, these kernels pop internally.  Once they are cooked in oil, puff up and pop open slightly, they easy to eat and taste similar to the leftover kernels at the bottom of the popcorn maker or pot .  The slightly split kernels are my favorite, so, I was so happy to be introduced to this fun snack.  Similar in size to Cornnuts, the kernels are much larger than our popcorn but have a similar crunch

To prepare the Canchita, you cover the kernels with oil in a wide pot with a lid.  The popcorn is cooked a few minutes until the popping stops.  Then you strain them from the oil, salt and eat.   Check out this Simply Delicioso video with Ingrid Hoffman  http://www.foodnetwork.com/videos/surprising-peruvian-popcorn/29007.html to see how to make the popcorn.

The popcorn is sold in limited places around the country, mostly stores that sell Peruvian or South American products.  You can purchase the popcorn on line as well. 

Check back for websites that offer the corn.  I am in the process of online stores where it is available.

Happy popping!!!!!

Entry filed under: Pretzelgirl's Favorites, Snack Finds. Tags: , , .

Cookies — Red, White and Blue and 25% off for you! Waiting For You, My Luscious Jersey Blues!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andy  |  June 17, 2009 at 9:36 am

    I am so thrilled to see you back blogging! Great stuff.

    Reply
  • 2. Mr. Buzzy  |  November 23, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Dentists will love this tasty snack! Crowns royale! Open wide for Mr. Buzzy! Rzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

    Reply
  • 3. Fabio  |  December 23, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    Onde posso comprar esse Canchita?
    Moro em SP
    obrigado.

    Reply
  • 4. Hobbies and Collectibles  |  October 17, 2011 at 10:45 am

    Very well written blog post

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Follow Pretzelgirl on Twitter


