Waiting For You, My Luscious Jersey Blues!

June 9, 2010 at 11:45 am Leave a comment

Lemon Blueberry Scones

Lemon Blueberry Scones

For Mother’s Day, I surprised my mom with homemade fresh blueberry lemon scones.  I surprised myself with how easy they were to make and how delicious they were to eat.   Scones are one of my favorite treats with a cup of tea (British-style, with milk, of course) however,  I prefer scones that are moist and crumbly to the dry triangle-shaped scones prevalent in today’s coffee shops and supermarket bakery sections. 

So, I was delighted when the finished product came out exactly like I had hoped – almost.  I used a recipe from The Cheese Board Collective Works Cookbook.  The Cheese Board is a wonderful bakery (I hear from my trusted foodie friend Jessica)  in Berkeley, Ca right near Chez Panisse.  This recipe called for buttermilk, heavy cream and fresh blueberries, one of my favorite summer fruits, especially for baking.  While these scones were delicious, the fresh blueberries I used were not from New Jersey.  It was just too early for those luscious, plump, sweet-tart, purple blue marbles of goodness that melt in your mouth.  I thought, I can’t wait to make this recipe again in the summer with JERSEY BLUES.  Clafouti’s, pies, even fruit salad just taste better with these lovely “blue” accents. 

As a rule, I don’t eat anything “blue”.   No blue m&m’s, no blue ice-pops, don’t really like blue cheese, but blueberries, now that’s a different story.   

So, hurry up Mother Nature.  We can’t wait to go blueberry picking, so we can start baking all those delicious blueberry recipes.  Feel free to share your own with others reading this post.

Entry filed under: Pretzelgirl's Favorites.

Back To Snacking with Peruvian Popcorn!!! Soft and Chewy, Chocolatey and Gooey Gingerbread Cookies

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Follow Pretzelgirl on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


